Dagor Penntaur: I Guess That Concludes Negotiations

[RYAN MALONE stands before an army of 17,132 yinzers at the Valley Forge exit of the Pennsylvania Turnpike. At the front of that army stand GARY ROBERTS, MAXIME TALBOT, MARC-ANDRE FLEURY, KRIS LETANG, and TYLER KENNEDY.]

RYAN MALONE:

Men of Squirrel Hill! Of Blawnox! My brothers!

I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me.

A day may come when our contracts expire, when we become unrestricted free agents and sign long term contracts with the Islanders. But it is not this day.

An hour of woe, of trading deadlines, when we are sent to Atlanta for some prospects and a pick in next year’s draft. But it is not. This. Day.

This day, we fight!

By all that you hold dear on this good ice, [raises stick] I bid you STAND, PENS OF THE WEST!

MAXIME TALBOT:

Ne’er thought I’d die fightin’ side-by-side with a goalie.

MARC-ANDRE FLEURY:

What about side-by-side with a friend?

MAXIME TALBOT:

Aye. I could do that.

PAUL HOLMGREN (whispering voice only MALONE can hear):

Malooooone… weee haaaave rooommm unnnnderrr the saaalaryyyy caaaaaaap…

RYAN MALONE:

[looks back at teammates] For Sidney…

